Administration Sites

Legislative Council Chamber

Constructed in stages between 1843 and 1875 Adelaide's Old Parliament House is of major historical significance both at the state and national level. The complex includes two walls of the original Council Chamber dating from 1843 which was the first permanent home of South Australia's Legislative Council along with the ... Continue Reading »

Government Offices

The Torrens Building is one of the State's most notable surviving purpose-built Government office buildings.  Completed in 1881 it was the largest public building of its period and one of the largest buildings in the city.  Other government office buildings of comparable significance that are State Heritage Places are the ... Continue Reading »

Government House

The original portion of Government House was completed in 1840 and designed by George S Kingston in the Georgian/Regency style.  The building comprises two main wings- one facing east and one facing south.  The original design was adapted from one made in London for a wooden structure by ... Continue Reading »

Parliament House

Parliament House
South Australia's Parliament House, one of Adelaide's most imposing buildings on the north-west corner of North Terrace and King William Road, was the object of bitter debate and wrangling during its planning and construction. Between 1872 and 1886 arguments raged over the site, and designs (originally provided by E.W. Wright and ... Continue Reading »

Adelaide Town Hall

The Corporation of the City of Adelaide was established in 1840, making it the first local government authority in Australia.  It is now more commonly known as the Adelaide City Council. The foundation stone of the Adelaide Town Hall was laid on 4 May 1863 by the Governor ... Continue Reading »